We want to place cookies on your computer to improve our website.

Your browser does not support cookies. You can switch through the settings.

Ghana British Ghana

The current Ghana originated on March 6, 1957 when two British colonies Gold Coast (British Gold Coast) and Brits Togoland, merged one year earlier, formed an independent country under the name Ghana. It was the first sub-Saharan country to achieve independence during the decolonization period after World War II. The current limits are determined in the period 1874-1919 as part of colonial agreements between the European powers and the settlement of the First World War. In a sense, Ghana is therefore considered to be an ever-stretched snake [5] to (parts of) a number of West African nations who, in the second half of the 20th century, felt their own nation.